Monday, September 29, 2014

TBF Read-a-Thon

Hello readers,

Before I talk about the TBF Read-a-Thon , I would like to congratulate our wonderful TBF fans who ran in George Eastman House 5K Photo Finish. In addition, TBF raised $2,100! A huge thank you to everyone who donated and our runners!

Now let's talk about the Read-a-Thon (RAT). This is just one of the few fundraisers you can participate in. This year's fundraising goal is $10,000.  How can you sign up for RAT?
Ask your librarian at your school or library if they are involved with TBF and can get you a reader packet.  If not, contact Stephanie at We ask fundraisers to raise a minimum of $20 to participate in the RAT. For an added incentive, the teen reader who raises the most money for RAT will receive TWO tickets to the TBF Author Dinner on Friday, May 15th, 2015.

Details about RAT
Date: Saturday, November 1st, 1-5pm
Location: Barnes and Noble, Pittsford Plaza (3349 Monroe Avenue, 14618)
Fun: Meet Laurie Halse Anderson, who will arrive around 3:30 to meet our readers and then will stay for a short reading/presentation and book signing.  Laure is up for a National Book Award for her latest book, The Impossible Knife of Memory! (YAY! Congratulations Laurie!)
Snacks will be provided.  Readers should bring pillows, blankets, other comfy stuff and reading material.
Prizes: Readers can win door prizes and every reader will get a free TBF T-Shirt.
That's it for today! Be sure to check out the blog for some more news, book reviews from our new TBF bloggers and author interviews!

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Updated Information about George Eastman 5K

Hello readers,

If you didn't know, there's an event going on in Rochester called George Eastman House PhotoFinish 5K Run/Walk. For more information about it, check it here.

I have some update information regarding the George Eastman 5K.
  • Online registration ends TOMORROW, Wednesday 24th, at MIDNIGHT. To register click here.
  • The walk up registration fee increased to $30

That's it for today. Be sure to check out the TBF blog for book reviews from our new TBF bloggers, author interviews and more!


Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Calling All TBF Fans

Hey TeenBookFest fans! 

We are looking for TEN fans willing to walk or run with us at the George Eastman House Photo Finish 5K Walk/Run to be held on Saturday, September 27, 2014.

To register for the 5K, simply click on this link and follow the steps to register for the 5K and then to join our TBF TEAM. Also, once you register, someone will be in contact with you to make sure you have a TBF t-shirt to wear that day.  

If a 5K is not your thing, consider a small donation of TEN dollars for year 10 of the Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival, to be held on Saturday, May 16, 2015.

To make a donation, Simply follow this link:
If you have any other questions about registering for the PhotoFinish 5K as a TBF Team member or if you want more assistance with how to donate to TBF through the fundraising page, please feel free to contact

On behalf of the GREATER ROCHESTER TEEN BOOK FESTIVAL INC, thanks so much for your support!

Monday, September 8, 2014

Introducing Three New TBF Bloggers

Happy Monday!

Today I'm going to introduce to you, three new bloggers who will join Elizabeth and myself on the TBF blog team. Please give a warm welcome to Vimbai, Victoria and Tia.

Vimbai is a senior who enjoys acting, debating, writing, and best of all, reading. Her favorite pastime activity is reading paranormal romances with strong female leads, as well as science fiction novels. In the future, Vimbai hopes to one day pen her own novel or television series for a young adult audience. This will be Vimbai’s seventh year attending the Teen Book Festival, as well as her fourth year volunteering for the festival.

Hey! I'm Victoria, a senior in high school. I enjoy reading a variety of books. One of my favorite things about TBF would have to be getting to meet and know both the authors of books I like and others who read those books too.

Hi, my name is Tia. I'm a twelfth grader. My favorite genres to read are fantasy (especially different takes on fairy tales and/or Shakespeare) and "pirate-y" fiction, such as The Brethren of the Coast series. My favorite part of TBF is that we get to meet published authors and learn more about how they write and do so as their job.

Be sure to check out the blog more for a ton of book reviews from our new bloggers throughout the year!

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Book Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Hello TBF readers,

Summer may have ended but the TBF blog is just getting started! I have the first book review of the season. Take a look at Katie McGarry’s PUSHING THE LIMITS.

So wrong for each other…and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

Let me make this short and sweet: I’m a huge fan of Katie McGarry. I fell in love with PUSHING THE LIMITS and after reading it I bought every single book of hers, without reading the description. So imagine my response when I heard Katie McGarry was coming to TBF: full blown fangirl mode.

Now back to the book review. What I love about PUSHING THE LIMITS is the chemistry between Echo and Noah. Although there is teasing and sweet moments between the two characters, their chemistry begins when they realize they have a lot in common. Before the book starts, they share the experience of losing loved ones and later bond by trying to get information from their school file; Echo wants to know more about what happened on that unfortunate day and Noah is desperate to find out the foster parents of his two younger brothers. Although PUSHING THE LIMITS is a love story, it’s also a story about friends, family and loss. It is definitely not a book you want to disregard as a “typical teen romance novel”. PUSHING THE LIMITS will leave you breathless and possible make you shed a tear or two. You will be dying to read the other books in the series and know more about the secondary characters you meet in PUSHING THE LIMITS.

I highly recommend PUSHING THE LIMITS for fans of TBF Alumni, Simone Elkeles. Also check out Katie McGarry’s other novels and e-novellas on her Goodreads page.

Be sure to check out the blog for more book reviews and author interviews.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

More TBF Author News

Hello TBF readers,

I hope I can shine some excitement on your back-to-school day. I'm delighted to announce two more authors are confirmed for TBF 2015!
  • Julie Kagawa: author of the IRON FREY series, the IRON FREY: CALL OF THE FORGOTTEN series, BLOOD OF EDEN series and upcoming series, TALON      *TALON will be released October 28th*
  • Katie McGarry: author of PUSHING THE LIMITS series     *BREAKING THE RULES, the fifth novel, will released December 7th, only in e-book format*
That's it for today! Be sure to check back for some more exciting news!