Monday, September 8, 2014

Introducing Three New TBF Bloggers

No comments:
Happy Monday!

Today I'm going to introduce to you, three new bloggers who will join Elizabeth and myself on the TBF blog team. Please give a warm welcome to Vimbai, Victoria and Tia.

Vimbai is a senior who enjoys acting, debating, writing, and best of all, reading. Her favorite pastime activity is reading paranormal romances with strong female leads, as well as science fiction novels. In the future, Vimbai hopes to one day pen her own novel or television series for a young adult audience. This will be Vimbai’s seventh year attending the Teen Book Festival, as well as her fourth year volunteering for the festival.


Hey! I'm Victoria, a senior in high school. I enjoy reading a variety of books. One of my favorite things about TBF would have to be getting to meet and know both the authors of books I like and others who read those books too.


Hi, my name is Tia. I'm a twelfth grader. My favorite genres to read are fantasy (especially different takes on fairy tales and/or Shakespeare) and "pirate-y" fiction, such as The Brethren of the Coast series. My favorite part of TBF is that we get to meet published authors and learn more about how they write and do so as their job.


Be sure to check out the blog more for a ton of book reviews from our new bloggers throughout the year!
Miranda

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Book Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

No comments:
Hello TBF readers,

Summer may have ended but the TBF blog is just getting started! I have the first book review of the season. Take a look at Katie McGarry’s PUSHING THE LIMITS.

So wrong for each other…and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.

But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

 
Let me make this short and sweet: I’m a huge fan of Katie McGarry. I fell in love with PUSHING THE LIMITS and after reading it I bought every single book of hers, without reading the description. So imagine my response when I heard Katie McGarry was coming to TBF: full blown fangirl mode.

Now back to the book review. What I love about PUSHING THE LIMITS is the chemistry between Echo and Noah. Although there is teasing and sweet moments between the two characters, their chemistry begins when they realize they have a lot in common. Before the book starts, they share the experience of losing loved ones and later bond by trying to get information from their school file; Echo wants to know more about what happened on that unfortunate day and Noah is desperate to find out the foster parents of his two younger brothers. Although PUSHING THE LIMITS is a love story, it’s also a story about friends, family and loss. It is definitely not a book you want to disregard as a “typical teen romance novel”. PUSHING THE LIMITS will leave you breathless and possible make you shed a tear or two. You will be dying to read the other books in the series and know more about the secondary characters you meet in PUSHING THE LIMITS.

I highly recommend PUSHING THE LIMITS for fans of TBF Alumni, Simone Elkeles. Also check out Katie McGarry’s other novels and e-novellas on her Goodreads page.

Be sure to check out the blog for more book reviews and author interviews.
Miranda

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

More TBF Author News

No comments:
Hello TBF readers,

I hope I can shine some excitement on your back-to-school day. I'm delighted to announce two more authors are confirmed for TBF 2015!
  • Julie Kagawa: author of the IRON FREY series, the IRON FREY: CALL OF THE FORGOTTEN series, BLOOD OF EDEN series and upcoming series, TALON      *TALON will be released October 28th*
  • Katie McGarry: author of PUSHING THE LIMITS series     *BREAKING THE RULES, the fifth novel, will released December 7th, only in e-book format*
That's it for today! Be sure to check back for some more exciting news!
Miranda

Friday, August 29, 2014

TBF Author News is on Fire

No comments:
Hello TBF fans!

I have some exciting news to start off the Labor Day Weekend: Emmy Laybourne and April Henry will be attending TBF 2015. Emmy Laybourne is the author of the Monument 14 series and upcoming book, Sweet    *Sweet will hit the shelves in 2015*.  April Henry is the author of Shock Point, Torched, Girl Stolen, The Night She Disappeared, The Girl Who Was Supposed To Die and Point Last Seen series.

That's it for today! Enjoy the last couple days of summer vacation!
Miranda

Thursday, August 28, 2014

George Eastman House Photo Finish 5K

No comments:
Hello TBF FANS,

We are officially kicking off the community efforts to raise awareness and support for the Tenth Annual Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival.     

Our first fundraising event of the season is the George Eastman House Photo Finish 5K Walk/Run to be held on Saturday, September 27, 2014.

There are a number of ways you can help us spread the word about TBF and help us meet our fundraising goal for the year.

1. WALK/RUN a 5K with TBF FANS as a part of our Photo Finish 5K Walk/Run team.   
We are hoping to get at least 10 TBF fans to walk/run in order to celebrate YEAR 10 of the Festival!!!! Simply click on this link http://photofinish5k.eastmanhouse.org/?page_id=213 and follow the steps to register for the 5K and then to join our TBF TEAM. Also, once you register, someone will be in contact with you to make sure you have a TBF t-shirt to wear that day.  

2. BE AN ACTIVE FUNDRAISER as part of our 5K TBF TEAM.  
If participating in a 5K is not something you can commit to this year, then consider giving a small donation to TBF. Simply follow this link: https://www.crowdrise.com/tbf2015

3. WEAR YOUR BEST TBF GEAR and COME CHEER ON THE TEAM on Saturday, 27, 2014.
This is the fourth year of the PhotoFinish K5. It is also known as "The Philanthropy Challenge" because you can be a part of continuing Mr. Eastman's wish to make Rochester the healthiest and best place in the world to live and work. Pull out your TBF swag from your closet and come show the community how the Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival embodies George Eastman's philanthropic spirit. 

If you have any other questions about registering for the PhotoFinish 5K as a TBF Team member or if you want more assistance with how to donate to TBF through the fundraising page, please feel free to contact ljones1@naz.edu.

On behalf of the GREATER ROCHESTER TEEN BOOK FESTIVAL INC, Thanks so much for your support!

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

TBF Author News

No comments:
Hello readers!

I have some exciting news for all of you: Ally Condie is coming to TBF 2015! Yay! Ally is the author of the Matched trilogy and upcoming standalone book, Atlantia     *Atlantia will be released October 28th*

That's all the news I have for you today! And if I don't talk to you guys before, I hope you have a wonderful start to the school year!

Miranda

Friday, August 15, 2014

Another Author is Confirmed!

No comments:
Good afternoon readers!

I'm happy to announce that James Howe is coming to TBF 2015! He is the author of the Misfits series and the Bunnicula series. Also James wrote a ton of other books so check them out on his Goodreads page.

What a day, filled with author news! Stick around for more!
Miranda