Monday, December 22, 2014

Book Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Hello readers,

I finished reading ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES by Jennifer Niven and it was incredible. Take a look:

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

Oh my goodness! I don't know how to describe this book! I can write a book about this book using just adjectives. It was amazing, heartwarming, tearful and life-changing. And those adjectives don't give ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES justice.

Jennifer Niven's debut young adult novel is an eye-opener to mental illnesses, something that society should become aware of and be treated with care. It's real and honest. Often the subject is avoided because it scares people. Mental illnesses can also be the butt-end of a joke and is stigmatized but it shouldn't be. Becoming aware of mental illnesses will help save lives and can save yours. If you know someone who is going through a rough time, try to support them. Reaching out to someone can mean the world to them.You can even do some of your own research and educate yourself on different mental disorders like depression, bipolar disorder, anxiety disorder and more. ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES isn't all about mental illnesses and grief, it's about living life to the fullest. It's about young love, friendships and family. It's about finding those bright places that make you happy and happiness is everything.

I highly recommend this book for fans of Jay Asher, Gayle Forman (who is coming to TBF 2015!), John Green and Rainbow Rowell.

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES will be at a bookstore near you on January 6th, 2015. So save those gift cards and money to buy this incredible book!

That's it for today. From everyone here on the TBF blog, we wish you a Merry Christmas!

No comments:

Post a Comment